Is it a British thing?

Have you ever had one of those days where you seem to be solving everyone else’s problems and wish you could be so clever when it came to your own?

So far I’ve helped a friend of mine get some high-profile guests to her film screening and got a gig for my brother’s company for later in the year. He’s a circus performer with a children’s entertainment company, by the way. (Let’s see if I can add to today’s successes!)

The phone lines have been busy. I felt like a networking genius and all before 9.30am! Ho, ho, I may be off the pitch, but not out of the game!!

And then I remembered all the things I’m supposed to be doing for my own project. Don’t get me wrong, I’m doing them, but at what feels like snails pace. Ever wish you just had a few more skills – I’m lacking all the technical ones.

When I first started this project, I decided the only way to get going was to take the project seriously, but not myself. If I get too carried away with what everyone thinks, I’ll be paralysed into inaction.

Do any of you feel the same? It’s easy to sell someone else’s ‘product’ and come up with lots of ideas, than it is your own. Perhaps it’s a British thing. We’re not very good at putting ourselves forward – a huge barrier for many a brilliant, creative mind. We worry about what others will think. This is a nation that champions the underdog not the winner. What will people think of us if we put ourselves out there, on a limb?

What do you think? Do you agree?

This entry was posted in Being a mum, Just one of those things. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

